Your Sunday Show Prep…Thao and The Get Down Stay Down

In my effort to get a few more people out to exciting national acts coming through the area, as well as fantastic local types, I’ve decided to take a few extra steps. The first one was yesterday’s show calender (scroll past the little rant, I promise those won’t come with every forecast) and today is the first installment of the second step. Now, generally I don’t like going to shows where I have no idea what I’m getting into. Even if I’ve heard and digested only a couple of songs by an artist I tend to have a million times more fun than if I have no background with them. So today well highlight an artist who will performing at the Northside Tavern (new back room!) on Sunday, Thao and the Get Down Stay Down. Normally I’ll do these a little closer to the show (day of or before, generally) but I’ll be out of town for a couple of days and won’t be able to keep up as much. So let’s get started a little prematurely, shall we?

I’m not a big fan of music writing, often times finding it completely useless in regards to simply experiencing a piece of music. For purposes of this I’ll throw in a little intro and then a couple of tracks to get you interested and out of your house on Sunday night. Thao Nguyen makes what I suppose would be considered indie-folk or some genre like that. I’m not always great with distinctions. Generally this kind of music kind of bores me, but I find a great deal of presence in her voice and writing that carries over to the listener. The, relative to many of her folky peers, lush instrumentation really helps to glue the songs together keeping things from getting to boring and hush-hush. The last time I saw her I was also happy to see her vocal presence goes together with a wonderful stage presence. Too many times I see acts where I’m disappointed by their lack of showmanship. If you’re an entertainer you should do your best to, um, entertain me. Thao Nguyen and her Get Down Stay Downs have taken care of that problem for me. Thanks guys!

But screw what I have to say, have a listen and come on out! We’ll all have fun together! Here are a couple of tracks from her most recent album “We Brave Bee Stings and All.” The first track is “Beat (Health, Life and Fired)” and the second is the lovely “Swimming Pools”:

Thao and the Get Down Stay Down- Beat (Health, Life and Fired)

Thao and the Get Down Stay Down – Swimming Pools

Thao and the Get Down Stay Down w/ (the totally awesome sounding) tune-yards

Sunday, July 20 @ Northside Tavern

4163 Hamilton Ave.

Northside (derr)

Love,

John

Leave a Reply

